Who We Are

The Alaska Farmers Market Association supports and promotes vibrant and sustainable farmers markets throughout Alaska. Buying local produce and goods supports a stronger community, secures a sustainable food system for our future, and provides nutritious and delicious food to be enjoyed year-round. 

AFMA was launched in 2009. Our purpose is to gather critical information for shoppers, markets, CSAs, and vendors to build partnerships, promote opportunities and create resources for our stakeholders. We specialize in local food promotion, grant and funding assistance, developing resources, hosting events, training, and more!

Whether you are a local farmer, resident, food enthusiast, or visitor, we help you access what you’re looking for: fresh, high-quality Alaska products. 

Board Members / Affiliations

Thank you to our Board Members and affiliations who dedicate their time to help guide AFMA in the right direction. If you are interested in joining our board, contact us at info@alaskafarmersmarkets.org!

Staff & Contractors

Robbi Mixon, Executive Director

Meghan Geary, Local Foods Coordinator

Claire Marshalek, Local Foods Coordinator

Kyra Harty, Beginning & Young Farmers Coordinator

Board of Directors

Brad St. Pierre, President
Director, Tanana Valley Farmers Market,
Fairbanks, AK

Lauren Jerew, Treasurer
Manager, Homer Farmers Market, Homer, AK

Barbara Landi
Manager, South Anchorage Farmers Market, Anchorage, AK

Meghan Stangeland
Director, Salt & Soil Marketplace, Juneau, AK

Leah Wagner
Foundroot, Haines, AK

Evelyn Trefon
E&A Produce Market, Iliamna, AK

Jodie Anderson
Director, Institute of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Extension, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Matanuska Experiment Farm and Extension Center, Palmer, AK

Nick Bachman
Anchorage Refugee Agricultural Programs/Grow North Farm, Anchorage, AK

Phoebe Autry
Interim Executive Director, Alaska Farmland Trust,
Palmer, AK

Jonathan Church
Moonstone Farm, Palmer AK

Brandi Jo Nyberg
Sauntering Roots Farm, Palmer, AK


Kyra Wagner
Homer Soil and Water Conservation District, Director, Homer, AK

Annual Meeting Presentations:

2022 Annual Meeting – April 8, 2022